FMPA Latest News

Back to All News

Manchester United First Team Doctor Scoops award

Dr Steve McNally won the Fabrice Muamba Award for Outstanding Services to Football Medicine and Performance at last nights Armstrong Project North West Football Awards. The event, held at the Emirates Old Trafford Cricket Ground, was attended by over 500 guests on Monday 7th November 2022.

Dr McNally was a familiar face to many of the guests at the prestigious event despite his best efforts to keep a low profile. In the words of his colleagues, he is “the consummate professional whose door is alway open and who is extremely hard working and committed to his club”. McNally began his football career in 1994 with Marine FC and went on to work at Liverpool’s Academy and with several England youth teams before joining Manchester United in 2006.

With his present club, Manchester United, Steve has been ever an ever present figure on the bench at the FIFA Club World Cup winners in 2008, UEFA Champions League Winners in 2008, Europa League winners 2017, Premier League winners 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013. MUFC were also FA Cup winners in 2016, League Cup winners in 2009, 2010 and 2017 and won the FA Charity/Community shield in 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2016.

On a professional note Steve oversaw the development and installation of the first Medical Imaging Centre at a British club training ground in 2013. And, finally, last season Steve passed 100 consecutive official match as the First Team Doctor at Manchester United.

Kevin De Bruyne Ellen White, Jill Scott MBE, Pep Guardiola, Lauren Hemp and Anthony Gordon were among the big winners at last night’s Armstrong Projects Northwest Football Awards.

The winners of the Armstrong Projects Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) 2022 have been revealed during a star-studded ceremony.

More than 500 guests attended the black-tie event last night, which was hosted by broadcaster, Eilidh Barbour, at The Point at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester, which celebrated and honoured the stars of the 2021/22 season.

Winners were named in eight player categories, as well as in a raft of other honours – including the highly sought-after Moment of the Season, as voted for by fans from around the world.

After an intensely fought season and much deliberation from the judges, Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola was awarded the coveted Manager of the Season title, for winning the Premier League title, whilst Anthony Gordon, who helped to keep Everton in the Premier League, won The Athletic Rising Star of the Season, as voted for by the fans.  A staggering 108,000 fan votes were received for the Player of the Season categories.

Kevin de Bruyne won Premier League Player of the Season, with the Lionesses being handed the Billy Seymour Impact Award, which recognises those who have made a significant positive impact on football, for their amazing Euro win this summer and the legacy that has followed.

The Lifetime Achievement accolade was awarded jointly to the recently retired Ellen White and Jill Scott MBE for their achievements throughout their careers for clubs and country and their significant contribution to the growth of women’s football.

It was also a successful night for our current women’s teams with Ella Toone being awarded the Women’s Player of the Season for the WSL, Leanne Kiernan being awarded for all other leagues and Lauren Hemp receiving The Athletic Women’s Rising Star Award for the second year running.

Laura Wolfe of the Armstrong Northwest Football Awards said: “The quantity and quality of entries continues to rise year on year and the effort that the clubs put into their entries is truly humbling.  The array of footballing talent across this region is second to none and I congratulate each and every winner and thank everyone who submitted entries that made the job of our judging panel so demanding, but hugely inspirational.”

During the night, tributes were also paid to the crucial role football clubs carry out in the community, with Everton in the Community winning the hotly contested Community Club of the Season for the Premier League and Wigan Athletic Community Trust winning the Award for clubs from all other leagues. 

Rochdale AFC Community Trust Bus took home the accolade for Community Initiative of the Season for its hugely successful One Stop Bus.

The Promoting Inclusion Award, in association with Kick it Out was another hugely impressive category, being awarded to the Manchester United Foundation for their Inclusive Reds: Disability Football Provision.

Armstrong Projects, Chris Hamlett said: “This was a truly fantastic evening for all our clubs and those working in football in the North West. A huge congratulations to all those who did receive an award on the night, and everyone involved in making it a massive success.  This is an event we are passionate about and we are delighted to be involved in honouring those doing such incredible work both on and off the pitch.”

The Armstrong Northwest Football Awards proudly supported the Darby Rimmer Foundation on the night. 

For more information, please visit